Though self-titled, this is actually their second album together, the first (Independent Leaders) being released under the artist name The New Style.

The unavoidable massive hit here was “O.P.P” but there are a lot of great songs, including “Ghetto Bastard” (aka “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright”). “Uptown Anthem,” and “1, 2, 3.”

Featured vocalists/rappers include Queen Latifah (also one of the Executive Producers), Apache, Lakim Shabazz, and Aphrodity.

My copy is the 2023 Vinyl Me, Please edition of the 30th anniversary remastered reissue, which sounds great – though this time no listening notes or other additions beyond the colored vinyl. Great to see more Tommy Boy releases coming out remastered on vinyl.