Really interesting package here – the sleeve is basically denim, with a pocket looking like an 80s jeans pocket, complete with lipstick mark and phone number (which actually rings Numero group). Part of a series Numero group did: “The Cabinet of Curiosities,” each of which is said to be in “lavish” packaging.

The contents:

  • Cheryl Glasgow: Glued to the Spot
  • Dianne Mower: The Secret Sign
  • Phoebe Cates: Feels So Good
  • Isabelle Antena: Naughty Naughty
  • Nika Rejto: More Than Just a Dream
  • Crow Johnson: You Got Me
  • Terry Garthwaite: Me To You
  • Suse Millemann: Patterns
  • Vazz: Breath
  • Elisa Waut: Being Strong
  • Antoinette & Jeff Phelps: Hear My Heart
  • DeMonica Fly: Someday You’ll See

Yes, that Phoebe Cates (she put out an album, Paradise, in 1982). Mostly these are what you’d call disco as it was heading into the early 80s, though Vazz is more synth-centric. As Numero group publicity puts it “This 12-song mix tape weaves icy hot coldwave, Sausalito seafood jazz, Glaswegian goth, makeshift Madonna, Sade spoofs, and Brat Pack balearic into a high-waisted, party-ready pair of danceable denim.”

Great album to put on for an early summer evening on the deck.

In my collection via the Secretly Society