My copy is the 2023 reissue by Craft Recordings for Record Store Day. Players:

  • Gil Evans: Piano
  • Steve Lacy: Soprano Saxophone
  • Jimmy Cleveland: Trombone
  • Louis Mucci, John Carisi, Jake Koven: Trumpet
  • Bart Varsalona: Bass Trombone
  • Willie Ruff: French Horn
  • Zeke Tolin (aka Lee Konitz): Alto Saxophone
  • Dave Kurtzer: Bassoon
  • Paul Chambers: Bass
  • Nick Stabulas, Jo Jones: Drums

Recorded by Rudy Van Gelder, this was Gil Evan’s fist recording as a pianist. Not sure if Lee Konitz couldn’t appear under his own name for contractual reasons (he was recording with Gerry Mulligan Quartet and solo at this same time).

Any Craft Records reissue of a Prestige title from the 50’s (really 1949-1958 era) is worth picking up.